Power of the Tongue

You ever catch yourself speaking negatively about someone or a certain topic?

download

For example, I speak negatively about my life, the way I see it now versus where I want it to be.  Another example may be the way I speak about the men who approach me or don’t approach me.  Are they available for me to consider, are they just trying to get in my pants, are they even rooting for my team [if you get my point], etc. During the open mic we focused on a very popular scripture about love.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. (I Corinthians 13:4-8 NKJV)

It dawned on me that I have people in my life who I need to love better, myself included! Even though I don’t see marriage in my near future [another topic, another day] I don’t want to continue to vocalize that over my life. Bible 007EDIT

I have to be mindful of what I say because it literally shifts atmospheres and situations. In addition to being mindful, I need to stick to my concentrated timed set aside for the Word of God. I can’t speak “life” into my situation if I don’t know it. It amazes me that such a small body part like the tongue has so much power! If you have an accountability partner I encourage you to check them and be teachable to be checked when you are speaking. You never know what blessing you may holding up just with your mouth.

keep up with me

TWITTER I INSTAGRAM I YOUTUBE I TUMBLR

 

2 thoughts on “Power of the Tongue

  1. I absolutely love this and can relate 100%. I find myself speaking negatively about my current situation (in my career) a lot. It doesn’t make anything better and in fact it just breeds more negatively. The power is in the tongue so I’m definitely working on speaking on the positive things and the things I see for my future and let life follow my words!

    • We are in the same boat! It really amazes me how many things we speak into existence without fully understanding that what is being said alters things for us and others! I’m glad this helped changed your perspective a bit and pray you help someone else with your positive example!

Leave a Reply

