4c Hair is “Bad Hair”

Recently I was complimented on my hair because they had never seen “4c” hair look like mine. I thanked her and explained that stretching methods like twist/ braid outs help to elongate my curls. On twitter a young lady posted if she had my hair texture she wouldn’t go natural. Initially I was upset, then I realized it’s not her fault that we have been trained to look at our natural curly hair as “bad”. Mentioned in Curls, Kinks, & Waves Oh My!, I spoke on rankings of what is considered “good hair” to “bad hair”. Bone straight down to loose curl or wave down to tight coils & kinks!? Like really hair is hair y’all!

Different types and textures does not mean that one class of hair is better than the other. Most girls think going natural automatically means they will have loose curly hair, and have a breakdown when they realize their real texture. I understand that natural hair is not the easiest to manage, especially when going to salons who want to add some chemical to make their job easier. The hair God graced you with is beautiful and how people react to it shouldn’t determine how you feel about yourself or your hair.

phototop L to R: twist out, puff, puff, hair freshly washed

 My staple products beginning with cleansing are:

Carol’s Daughter Tui Moisturizing Shampoo, Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner or Carol’s Daughter Monoi Conditioner. For my deep condition, I tend to stick with Sof’ n Free Milk Protein & Olive Oil Deep Conditioning Treatment or Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque. I like to mix olive, coconut, or grapeseed oil, a drop or two of peppermint essential oil, and honey to my DC, especially during the harsh winter months. As for my leave in conditioner, I like to use Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioning Repair Cream or Carol’s Daughter Tui Leave in Conditioner. My staple oil as of now is Grapeseed because it is light on my scalp and ends, but gets the job done. My staple styling cream is Monet’s Moisture Mix, Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream, or Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie.

Please hear me and hear me well there is no such thing as “bad” hair. The health of my hair is the most important thing to me not length or curl pattern. I don’t get sad when I go through social media and see that light skin loose curled women get more love and recognition than those of my complexion or curl type [unless caked in makeup or half naked, different topic different day]. To each is own and that’s ok, but remember to love every inch of you because God doesn’t make mistakes. Stay beautiful inside and out my loves.

want to keep up with me

TWITTER I INSTAGRAM I YOUTUBE I TUMBLR

 some 4c beauties…

camille_walton miss-jessies-44_347x520 tumblr_static_image__4_ tumblr_l1f45nrnen1qabw2lo1_1280-600x450_large nyc-ss-hair-14_347x520

9 thoughts on “4c Hair is “Bad Hair”

  1. Thank u for sharing this. You’ve helped me so much after I decided to bc. Although 4c hair texture may not be the “easiest” to deal with, I love it and all your advice makes it that much easier! Thanks again

  2. Pingback: Short Hairstyles Black Women Hair 2014 – 2015 | The Beauty Mag

  3. This is such an awesome article! I’m mixed, black, white, native american, and asian so my hair is much looser curls. I used to hate my hair so much because it wasn’t straight like my european aunt’s, my Seminole grandfather’s, or my Korean uncle’s and cousin’s AND it wasn’t kinky like my black friends’ so there wasn’t really anyone I could relate to when it came to hair. But I love how this article is about loving your hair because it’s YOUR HAIR. I think that any hair texture could appreciate that message :). Right now I’m really into the natural 4c kinks because they are just so beautiful and those pictures showed some really nice ways to wear 4c hair. Personally I think that this is a great article for all natural girls. Thank you for sharing this!

  4. Pingback: Jacklyn’s Closet: Top Hair Regimens For All Natural Hair Types |

  5. After reading what u posted, I too am very happy and content with my natural 4c hair. Many people always wondering is that really your hair? Of course after it being shorter some days and then long it’s like u hate having to explain to people your type of hair. Especially those who have straight hair and don’t understand ethnic natural hair.I would never want to trade in my beautiful ethnic hair. I love it.

  6. Pingback: Short Hairstyles Black Hair 2014 - 2015 | Short Hairstyles 2014 | Most Popular Short Hairstyles for 2014

Leave a Reply

