Hephzibah

“God gives you somebody that you need, more than somebody that you think you want.”- h. lindsey

photo-31

I recently finished reading Pink Lips and Empty Hearts by Heather Lindsey. I can’t say anything else but read the book, especially if you’re single. Single meaning not married, just in case you were wondering. Heather gives sound advice through her transparency in her walk with God. She explains how she was saved but still had one foot in and the other out. How she heard from God to break up with her random [a person

to continue reading…you know that you’ll never marry but you date them to fill a void because you’re lonely or bored] at the time because he could not go where she was going. He could not lead her the way God wanted. Reading her book, getting glimpse into her walk, and the integrity of her husband was such a blessing. Talk about setting a standard!

personal history: I have always been “talking” to or dating someone over the past 6 years. No time off or “me time”, always on to the next. I would always try to fill that void with a physical person. Even after I said the “sinner’s prayer” at the altar I still put myself back in random relationships. This is not to bash the boys I dated in the past, just part of my story I wanted to share with you.

i-kissed-dating-goodbye

After completing her book I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris was recommended through my Kindle. I’ve never heard of the book or the author, but I felt like it could teach me a little something more about this “single” life I’m in. Plus I gained insight from a woman’s point of view, so I thought it fair to hear what man had to say as well. Within the first few chapters I read this quote that stood out to me:

“The joy of intimacy is the reward of commitment” – j. harris

I promise you my whole outlook of intimacy changed. Being intimate with someone allows you to be close, dependent, open, and vulnerable. It’s the ability to freely share your fears, affections, and secrets with another person in confidence. In the past, if you said “intimate” to me, I would automatically think sex. That’s all I related it to because that’s all I knew it to be, intimacy equaled me giving away my goodies. This quote, as simple as it is, spoke volumes to me because it exposed a carnal way of thinking I still had. A commitment, according to my friend google, “is an engagement or obligation that restricts freedom of action”. It’s “the state or quality of being dedicated to a cause”. I don’t have to be intimate with anyone until they are committed to me.

me!? who am i?

The bride of Christ who was found worthy enough to be forgiven and set apart. A young woman fearfully & wonderfully made who has a savior that was beaten, humiliated, tortured, and killed for me. If the Lord of lords and King of kings could do that and so much more for me then I can most certainly keep my acts of intimacy to myself, until commitment is evident! You can be intimate with anyone like a family member, a friend, even a coworker. Think about the relationships you have with people you trust. You are intimate with that person because you share and receive personal information. If you do not trust an individual then stop being intimate with them. Giving away your time, attention, and emotions for free only to receive nothing in return, but a headache and possible heartache. Don’t you know who you are? Whose you are? 

“Regarding Zion, I can’t keep my mouth shut, regarding Jerusalem, I can’t hold my tongue, Until her righteousness blazes down like the sun and her salvation flames up like a torch. Foreign countries will see your righteousness, and world leaders your glory. You’ll get a brand-new name straight from the mouth of God. You’ll be a stunning crown in the palm of God’s hand, a jeweled gold cup held high in the hand of your God. No more will anyone call you Rejected, and your country will no more be called Ruined. You’ll be called Hephzibah (My Delight), and your land Beulah (Married), Because God delights in you and your land will be like a wedding celebration. For as a young man marries his virgin bride, so your builder marries you, And as a bridegroom is happy in his bride, so your God is happy with you.” Isaiah 62:1 – 5 amplified version
I have more to read before I complete this book, but I wholeheartedly recommend this book as well. If you have already read it please share you favorite part, or a lesson you learned. If you have another book you recommend I read share that too. Til next time loves watch who you’re intimate with and why.

For more on Heather Lindsey:

Twitter: @heatherllove

IG:@heatherllove

For more on Joshua Harris:

Twitter: @harrisjosh

FB: Joshua Harris

want to keep up with me

TWITTER I INSTAGRAM I YOUTUBE I FACEBOOK

 

4 thoughts on “Hephzibah

  1. Pingback: Pinnacle Place Apartments for Rent in Hephzibah, GA | My Living Quarters

  2. Pingback: So What I’m Single | my sister's closet

Leave a Reply

