How Low Can You Go

Just from reading the title I’m sure you can assume that this post has to do with your body. You, my friend, are correct! After my previous fitness post I wanted to challenge myself to get off the couch, put down the remote control, and break a sweat. My initial thought was Zumba, but since I can’t attend the class I really want to I chose the next best thing for cardio, running.

I am not a runner.

photo 4

It has been said by a previous trainer of mine that I have runners legs, but I beg to differ that my legs are just big. Truth moment: My self esteem was very low from elementary school through high school. Always being teased by family and friends about how big, chubby, and greedy I was.  I take my weight very seriously as I know of the many health diseases that are prominent in my race. Some facts: I am 5’4 and change with an athletic build due to dancing since middle school, currently weighing in the 150s (thankfully muscle weighing more than fat). My ultimate goal is to be completely shredded weighing no more than 135lbs.

photo 3

When I decided to get back into training I made sure that I didn’t go over 20 minutes. I know that I can do more, however I anticipated some muscle soreness from my month long absence. I decided to run because I have never taken it seriously, and wanted to increase my cardiovascular endurance. I was also motivated to run after seeing how much weight an instructor at my gym lost in her legs.

photo 2

My first time on the treadmill I ran 2 miles in 26 minutes, my second time I ran 2 miles in 22 minutes, my third time I was able to run 2 miles in 18 minutes. I chose my goal to run 2 miles in 15 minutes here & here figuring what better way than to be army strong! Everytime that I have run so far has been on a treadmill, so I would like to find a decent day to run outdoors to see if there is a difference in overall time and distance.

photo 1

Some tips I picked up are to keep my arms low, relax all of my muscles, pretend there is an egg between my hands as not make a tight fist, and be able to hold conversation. It is also important to have the correct running sneaker bigger than your true size to prevent unnecessary pain or cramping. Wiggle room is very important for runners going up and down hills, and turning corners. In my case it is best to wear a knee brace on whichever knee feels sharp pains.

photo 2 (1)

So, how low can you go in your running time, weight, meal portions, etc.  Your body is your temple treat it as such!

Leave a Reply

